Substance over Style: the August edit

w-magazine-september-2014-mert-marcus-1
Supernormal Supermodels by Mert & Marcus for W Magazine, September 2014

Sometimes I can’t wait for August to be over. The final lingering days of summer induce a lethargy that’s always broken by the arrival of September – a month of new starts, new seasons and new shoes. Back-to-school habits really do die hard. But before the month’s out, here’s a roundup of the best of it:

All these clever products do is reinforce a terribly bleak message: Somebody’s going to get raped. If you work hard at making sure it isn’t you, maybe it won’t be: why you can’t fight rape with nail polish (Dame Magazine)

But the upsurge in entrepreneurship isn’t just a reflection of what millennial women are pushed to do. It is also a reflection of what they are pulled to do: Basics beware, or why we’re all girl bosses now (The Daily Beast)

Is this a long fascinating article – or is it a fascinating long article? (Slate)

How do movies manipulate your brain to keep you entertained? (Wired)

An interview Catherine George, costume designer for Bong-Joon-ho’s the controversy-ridden film Snowpiercer (Clothes on Film)

Designed for destruction: Alexander and Issie (Vanity Fair)

LouLou de la Falaise was The Real Deal. This is why. (NYT Style Magazine)

Wardrobe rationalising: Going through my wardrobe, trying to apply the clearing out advice found online, made me realise how much I love the clothes I have. It also made me realise I take issue with these type of articles because of the consumerism they exemplify (It’s OK for intellectual feminists to like fashion)

“It worked out all right for awhile, but then you start to think, Okay, now what? Start to bake some cookies for the—what is it? The YMCA?”: Fleetwood Mac’s Christine McVie is ready to rock. Again. (ELLE)

And finally, lets hear it for drummer extraordinaire Sheila E (NY Daily News)

Images via The Fashionography

w-magazine-september-2014-mert-marcus-17

w-magazine-september-2014-mert-marcus-12

w-magazine-september-2014-mert-marcus-22

2 thoughts on “Substance over Style: the August edit

  1. Re: Wardrobe Article – We moved about two months ago and I did some fierce wardrobe purging. But I realized my fave items are pieces that I’ve had for years. These are clothes that I absolutely love to wear because they’re comfortable and I feel like myself in them…if that last part makes any sense?

    Also, fascinating article on movies and how we look at things on the screen.

    1. I completely agree. I have a box that I’m allowed to keep ‘favourite’ or meaningful items in. Although I have to be strict, I find myself inventing sentimental reasons for keeping them 😉

Leave a Reply

